Honors & Awards

The NBMBAA is devoted to honoring individuals that exemplify excellence in their career and community through business acumen. Programs such as the Entrepreneur of the Year, President and CEO Award for Excellence, President and CEO Award, H. Naylor Fitzhugh Award, MBA of the Year Award, NBMBAA Chairperson’s Award, and many more awards honor professionals who go the extra mile to empower our communities through business excellence, service, and professionalism. The NBMBAA is proud to honor individuals who epitomize leadership and uphold the values of the Association.

Chairman’s Award

Selected by the Chair of the NBMBAA, the recipient of this award is a member of the NBMBAA and is recognized for volunteering and his/her commitment to the organization at a local, regional or national level. This individual is well respected by his/her peers in the local communities they serve and exemplifies the basic core values of the Association.

  • 2015 Recipient: Dr. William Pickard, Founder, Chairman, CEO Global Automotive Alliance
  • 2014 Recipient: Debra L. Lee, Chairman and CEO of BET Entertainment

Chapter of the Year Awards

Awarded to recognize NBMBAA chapters that have dutifully demonstrated excellence within their respective regions, NBMBAA chapters are chosen for this prestigious award based on performance criteria set by the NBMBAA headquarters. This performance is tracked and measured by the Balanced Scorecard with six areas being measured: fund development, membership growth and retention, leadership, public relations, program implementation and chapter governance – all of which are critical to the health and long-term viability of the Association.

  • 2010 Recipient: Atlanta Chapter
  • 2006 Recipient: Atlanta Chapter
  • 2004 Recipient: Atlanta Chapter
  • 1999 Recipient: Dayton Chapter

Entrepreneur of the Year

Founded to recognize the importance of entrepreneurism within the African American community, this award is presented to individuals who embrace, support, and nurture the entrepreneurial spirit.

  • 2014 Recipient: Juanita and Gregory Baranco, (EVP and COO) and (President and CEO) of the Baran Company, LLC
  • 2013 Recipient: John Daniels

H. Naylor Fitzhugh Award of Relevance

Awarded to recognize exceptional contributions toward self-improvement and a demonstrated involvement in various business, educational and professional organizations within the African American community.

  • 2015 Recipient: Catherine W. LeBlanc, Business and Education Consultant
  • 2014 Recipient: Johnathan D. Mariner, EVP and CFO of Major League Baseball
  • 2013 Recipient: Lonnie Bunch, Founding Director National Museum of African American History

Helping Hands Award

This special award is presented by the President & CEO to an individual or organization that has truly exceeded expectations while serving the NBMBAA.

  • 2015 Recipients: Volunteers who have mentored Leaders of Tomorrow (LOT) students:
    Kent Cooke – 15 years (Philadelphia Chapter); Dana Davis - 10 years (Dallas Ft. Worth Chapter); Wayne Greene – 17 years (Dallas Ft. Worth Chapter); Keisha Kelly – 10 years(Washington, DC Chapter); Oscar Mardis – 10 years (Washington, DC Chapter); William Mills – 20 years(New York Chapter); Cedric Mobley – 18 years (Dallas and Washington DC Chapters); Anthony K. Moffett, Sr. – 10 years(Detroit); Shamieka Nelson – 11 years (New York and San Francisco Chapters); Tina Saulsbury – 13 years(Kansas City Chapter); Angela Thornton-Young – 18 years(Washington DC Chapter); Kathy Valentine – 10+ years (Dallas & New Jersey Chapters)
  • 2014 Recipient: David Harrison, Director of Office of Diversity and Inclusion Student Service of Max M. Fisher College of Business at The Ohio State University

Innovation Whiteboard Challenge Winner

  • 2015 Recipient: Stephanie Lampkin of Blendoor
  • 2014 Recipient: PurchaseBlack.com

MBA of the Year

Awarded to an MBA whose participation and leadership exemplify the values and mission of the NBMBAA. Take a look at past presidents, read about their accomplishments, and learn about nomination requirements and deadlines for future awards here.

  • 2015 Recipient: Marylyn R. Harris, Executive Director, Women Veterans Business Center/Harland Healthcare
  • 2014 Recipient: Norman P. Fleming, Senior Director, Enterprise Business Solutions, MillerCoors
  • 2013 Recipient: Louis Judge III

President’s & CEO Award

This special award is presented by the President & CEO to an individual or organization that has truly exceeded expectations while serving the NBMBAA.

  • 2015 Recipient: Amos Winbush III, CEO, CyberSynchs
  • 2014 Recipient: Dr. Kase L. Lawal, Chairman and Executive Officer of CAMAC Energy Inc.
  • 2013 Recipient: Thomas Allen & Joyce Moorehead; Albert Dotson

Silver Torch

Awarded to a corporation or individual that has made great gains to promote equal opportunities which challenge minority professionals. This individual has effectively advanced in strategic positions within their organization.

  • 2015 Recipient: Comcast NBC Universal
  • 2013 Recipient: Accepting on behalf of Chrysler: Georgette Dulworth, Director - Talent Acquisition and Global Diversity, Chrysler Group LLC

2016 Award Recipients

Academic Partner of the Year

University of Florida

Chapter LOT Program of the Year


Chapter(s) of the Year

Washington, D.C

H. Naylor Fitzhugh

kenneth Coleman h. naylor fitzhugh award
Kenneth Coleman

Helping Hands Awards

Dee Williams, FCA US LLC

Innovation Whiteboard Winner

2016 innovation whiteboard
Camille Newman of PopUpPlus

MBA of the Year

Oscar Lewis

Silver Torch

Delta Air Lines

400 West Peachtree Street NW, Suite 203, Atlanta, GA 30308
Copyrights © 2017 & All Rights Reserved by National Black MBA Association Inc.®